First Place: University of Georgia

Watch Video

Second Place: University of New Hampshire

Watch Video

Third Place: University of Texas at Austin

Watch Video


Watch Video

2004 Competition Archives

2004 I2P® Global Award-Winners

Thirteen teams competed in the semi-final rounds, from which three teams were sent to the final round. Following are details on all of the entries.

Chair of Free Enterprise Finals Awards

First Place: Chair of Free Enterprise Award
University of Georgia


Rejuvalin™ Glucosamine Cream

Team Members

Solomon Garner,
Michael Clark


Dr. Charles Hofer

The mission of the International Nutraceutical Corporation of America (INCA) is to develop and market nutraceutical (and selected nutraceutical/pharmaceutical combination) products whose health benefits and efficacy have been proven through formal scientific testing. INCA’s first product is Rejuvalin™, a patent pending nutraceutical cream that delivers significantly more glucosamine to osteoarthritic joints than any other product on the market today.

Read more: 2004 I2P® Global Award-Winners

2004 I2P Global Judges

Murchison Chair of Free Enterprise Finals:

  • Mark Melliar-Smith (Panel Moderator) - Dr. Melliar-Smith is the Chief Operating Officer for Molecular Imprints, a start-up company that develops and manufactures step and flash imprint lithography tools. Prior to joining Molecular Imprints, Mark was a Venture Partner with Austin Ventures (2002-2003), and before that he was the President and CEO of SEMATECH (1997 to 2001) and the Chief Technical Officer for Lucent Technologies Microelectronics, the forerunner of Agere Systems.
  • Mark Barry - Mark is Director, of Microsoft's US VC & Emerging Business group. He is part of Microsoft's software strategy team and is responsible for the unit's relationship with venture capitalists. Mr. Barry introduces venture firms and their portfolio companies to Microsoft's software strategy and shares views on emerging technologies and markets. Previously in Microsoft, Mr. Barry held several executive positions in enterprise sales, consulting and support services.
  • John Bosch - John has founded 10 (mostly high-tech) companies under the TyRex Group, Ltd. and Cedar Creek Companies umbrellas that are successfully operating today. John's true business passion lies in assisting Professional Entrepreneurs in their entrepreneurial education and with their initial business development phases. To that end, John co-founded the TyRex Learning Foundation (TLF), headquartered on the campus of Texas A&M University within the Technology Commercialization Center.
  • Mike Maples - A co-founder of Motive, Mike serves as the Chief Marketing and Strategy Officer. He is tasked with the responsibility of driving Motive's market, product and technology strategies to support the company's global sales initiatives. Mr. Maples experience centers on market strategy, entry and management in the software industry. Before co-founding Motive, he spent three years at Tivoli Systems, most recently as Director of Product Marketing.
  • Dale Tibodeau - Dale is currently in Hewlett Packard's Information Technology Group as a Business/IT Consultant focusing on programs/projects that will help the business improve their bottom line and operations. He has held a number of positions within Texas Instruments, Compaq Computer Corporation, and Hewlett Packard Company with significant program/project management responsibilities including Commodity Manager for PCA's in Procurement and Planning Manager.
  • Jimmy Treybig - Jimmy is a venture partner with New Enterprise Associates (NEA), one of the largest and oldest early round, venture capital firms in the USA. He is the Chairman of WholeSecurity and Clearcommerce and on the board of MotionComputing and VIEO. Jimmy was the founder and CEO of Tandem Computers for 22 years in its growth to $2+ billion in revenues. He received the Entrepreneur of the Year awards from both Stanford Graduate School of Business and Harvard Graduate School of Business.

    Read more: 2004 I2P Global Judges










Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor







© 2013 I2P & Chair of Free Enterprise.