I2P Media 2007


First Place: BioPristine

Watch Video

Second Place: UpFlow Microbial Fuel Cell

Watch Video

Third Place: On-Board Gasoline Distillation System

Watch Video

Forth Place: True 3D Gaming System

Watch Video

You need to upgrade your Flash Player

This is replaced by the Flash content.

Place your alternate content here and users without the Flash plugin or with Javascript turned off will see this. Content here allows you to leave out noscript tags. Include a link to bypass the detection if you wish.

2007 Competition Archives

2007 UT Austin Award Winners


Selig First Place Award



Team Members

Alek Zarak (Electrical Engineering)
Mario Pulido (Mechanical Engineering)
Ruben Morones (Chemical Engineering)
Our idea is method of bonding chlorine to almost any kind of material, creating a coating that could be kept germ-free for prolonged periods of time. The
technology behind this idea is simple yet effective. It consists of forming a polymer, which is in essence a combination of many small molecules arranged to form a much larger organic molecule. This polymer, which consists of polymerizable acyclic N-halamine, can be attached to an object in a manner similar to painting. It effectively protects the object from harmful germs such as bacteria and yeast. Exposure to a simple halogen light recharges the material’s biocidal qualities, so it can be used for extended periods.


Read more: 2007 UT Austin Award Winners

2007 I2P UT Austin Judges


  • Jerri Paul - Strategy, Operations, and Marketing Consultant
  • Michael Davis - President of the Davis Law Group
  • Norman Schumaker - Chairman of Infinagen, Inc., co-founder of Molecular Imprints
  • Mark Murdock - Technology attorney with 35+ years of experience
  • Carol Williams - President and CEO, Trendsetter Electronics

Read more: 2007 I2P UT Austin Judges


GAIN echnology Entrepreneurship Society
CEO Texas 3 Day Startup



Selig Fund in Entrepreneurial Studies

Roden Center of Entrepreneurship

© 2013 I2P & Chair of Free Enterprise
Thanks to all our Donors and Supporters