I2P Media 2008


First Place: Bevo-MEA

Watch Video

Second Place: Pro-Trix - Protein Memory

Watch Video

Third Place: Avatarus - 3D Scanning

Watch Video

Third Place: Turn2Live

Watch Video

You need to upgrade your Flash Player

This is replaced by the Flash content.

Place your alternate content here and users without the Flash plugin or with Javascript turned off will see this. Content here allows you to leave out noscript tags. Include a link to bypass the detection if you wish.

2008 Competition Archives

2008 I2P UT Austin Award Winners


Selig First Place Award



Team Members

Jason Moore (Aerospace Engineering),
Mark Olnery (Business),
Matthew Sullivan (Neuroscience),
Matthew Whitt (Law)

Longhorn Fuel Tech introduces a more durable, cost effective MEA (Bevo-MEA) that replaces the industry-standard platinum and polymeric membrane MEA with technology developed at the University of Texas at Austin. Bevo-MEA reduces fuel cell costs by utilizing novel and innovative blends of relatively inexpensive materials to enhance durability while reducing costs. First, a novel mix of palladium, cobalt, and molybdenum replaces platinum in the MEA. Second, an ingenious acid-base blend polymer replaces the current market standard polymeric membrane, Nafion, produced by DuPont. This replacement enhances the lifetime of the fuel cell while reducing the manufacturing cost.


Read more: 2008 I2P UT Austin Award Winners

2008 I2P UT Austin Judges


  • Norman Kaderlan, Ph.D. - President of Technology Innovation Group, Inc., and an Entrepreneur in Residence at UT
  • Hall Martin - Executive director of the Central Texas Angel Netwok
  • Thomas Milner, Ph.D. - Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Mark Murdock - Technology Lawyer with over 35 years of experience, and an Entrepreneur in Residence at UT
  • Jerri L. Paul - Independent consultant for strategy, operations, and marketing, prior President and Chief Executive Officer of KaleidaCare Management Solutions, and an Entrepreneur in Residence at UT
  • David Schieck - Co-founder of the I2P® Competition

Read more: 2008 I2P UT Austin Judges


GAIN echnology Entrepreneurship Society
CEO Texas 3 Day Startup



Selig Fund in Entrepreneurial Studies

Roden Center of Entrepreneurship

© 2013 I2P & Chair of Free Enterprise
Thanks to all our Donors and Supporters