I2P Media 2009



Watch Video

First Place: CMG Ultracapacitor

Watch Video

Second Place: CMOS Biosensors

Watch Video

Third Place: Peristaltic Pioneers

Watch Video

You need to upgrade your Flash Player

This is replaced by the Flash content.

Place your alternate content here and users without the Flash plugin or with Javascript turned off will see this. Content here allows you to leave out noscript tags. Include a link to bypass the detection if you wish.

2009 Competition Archives

2009 I2P UT Austin Award Winners

Marvin Selig First Place Award


CMG Ultracapacitor

Team Members

Josh Marcus (Business Administration, Graduate)
Josh Mueller
Kathryn Erickson (Biomedical Engineering, Graduate)
Matt Saunders (Mechanical Engineering, Graduate)
Patrick Framel (Law, Graduate)

The product is a new ultracapacitor utilizing a new material, Chemically Modified Graphene (CMG). It has potential to revolutionize the ultracapacitor market by dramatically increasing electrical storage capacity. CMG is a new material being researched at the University of Texas at Austin by Dr. Rod Ruoff. It is created by chemically deteriorating graphite down to a single layer one-atom thick sheet, otherwise known as graphene. This process substantially increases the conductive surface area on the nanoscale and is thought to increase the electrical storage capacity if used in ultracapacitors.


Read more: 2009 I2P UT Austin Award Winners

2009 I2P UT Austin Judges


  • Norman Kaderlan, Ph.D., Competition Co-host - President of Technology Innovation Group, Inc., and an Entrepreneur in Residence at UT
  • Rob Adams, Ph.D. - Director of MootCorp® Competiton, Founder Tejas Venture Partners, Management Department Faculty - The University of Texas at Austin
  • Michael Davis - President of Davis Law Group
  • Loren Kirkpatrick - Director of Development Services for Texas Realty, LLC
  • Norman Schumaker - Chairman of Infinagen, Inc., co-founder of Molecular Imprints

Read more: 2009 I2P UT Austin Judges


GAIN echnology Entrepreneurship Society
CEO Texas 3 Day Startup



Selig Fund in Entrepreneurial Studies

Roden Center of Entrepreneurship

© 2013 I2P & Chair of Free Enterprise
Thanks to all our Donors and Supporters