Donors and Supporters


A grant from the National Science Foundation was awarded in spring, 2007 to facilitate; 1) the development and refinement of the Idea to Product® (I2P®) program to drive technology innovation and commercialization and to create a framework for more rapid dissemination to other universities and 2) to further develop systematic methods and tools to support technology innovation. The grant funding also includes collaboration among the Office of Technology Commercialization (OTC), the Austin Technology Incubator (ATI), and companies with the potential to license and commercialize technology from UT Austin More information on the NSF program can be found at

The National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance was established in 1995 with support from The Lemelson Foundation. Its mission is to foster invention, innovation, and entrepreneurship in higher education. The NCIIA accomplishes its goals by supporting curricula and programs that encourage the development and the work of E-Teams – multidisciplinary teams of students, faculty, and industry mentors working together to take an idea for a technological innovation and bring it through prototype development to commercialization.

Marvin and Ellie Selig Excellence Fund in Entrepreneurial Studies
In 2002 the family of Marvin Selig, of Seguin, established the Ellie and Marvin Selig Center of Excellence in Entrepreneurial Leadership to enhance further entrepreneurial education in engineering.
Ted and Jan Roden Center of Excellence in Entrepreneurship
In 2001, Ted and Jan Roden of Odessa established the Ted and Jan Roden Center of Excellence in Entrepreneurship to support entrepreneurship education within the College of Engineering.
The Kelleher Center and Chair in the Red McCombs School of Business aims to create a forum for successful entrepreneurs, students and faculty. In the spirit of Southwest Airlines, the center fosters the application of entrepreneurship principles to companies of all sizes, spurring corporate growth and renewal.
Associate Sponsor

Fish & Richardson P.C. is a national law firm with over 350 lawyers in ten offices: Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Dallas, Delaware, New York, San Diego, Silicon Valley, Twin Cities, and Washington, DC. The Firm is one of the largest firms practicing intellectual property, litigation, and corporate law and the only firm with a truly national intellectual property practice. Founded in 1878, the Firm represented Thomas Edison, Alexander Graham Bell, and the Wright Brothers. For 125 years, Fish & Richardson has served great innovators, helping to protect countless ideas, nurture discoveries, and bring new concepts to market. The Firm prosecuted and litigated many of the fundamental patents of an industrialized America, serving corporations creating the cutting-edge technologies of the day: the telephone, the air-brake, the steam turbine, the automobile, and the radio. Frederick Fish, the Firm's founder, was for many years the acknowledged leader of the patent bar of the entire country at a time when patents were more important than they had ever been. Today, the Firm continues to represent great innovators working in cutting-edge technologies.

The Firm of Conley Rose, P.C. currently has approximately fifty professionals with offices in Austin, Dallas, and Houston, making it the largest firm in Texas focusing exclusively on intellectual property matters. The Firm specializes in intellectual property law, including patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets, unfair competition, and covenants not to compete.

M3 Design
creates breakthrough products for the global market. By leveraging strong foundations in engineering, industrial design and manufacturing, M3 Design consistently delivers top & bottom-line growth solutions to clients ranging from Fortune 50 to start-ups.

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati is the premier legal advisor to technology and growth enterprises worldwide, as well as the investment banks and venture capital firms that finance them. The firm, which is headquartered in Palo Alto, has offices in Austin, Reston, New York, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, and Seattle.

Donation coutesy of the HP Calculator Group and HP University Relations.


The Computer Sciences Department at the University of Texas at Austin (UTCS) is a major force behind Austin’s transformation into a high-tech hub. The CS department believes the future of the University, the state, and the world is shaped by research
and education. UTCS strives to define the leading edge by producing world-class research and world-class graduates.
In-Kind Service and Product Donors

The HP Calculator Group provided six HP49G+ graphing calculators as door prizes for the 2005 I2P® International and 2006 I2P® UT Austin Competitions.


DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary LLP provided trademark advice and prosecution on a pro bono basis for the marks Idea to Product® and I2P®.
Competition Hosts

The Clint Murchison Chair of Free Enterprise, an endowed chair in the College of Engineering, was established to create and nurture a culture of technology innovation, creativity, leadership and enterprise at The University of Texas at Austin and the global community that we serve.
The Technology Entrepreneurship Society is a forum for students interested in technology-related ventures. The group is the primary organizer of the I2P® UT Austin Competition and the associated seminars for participating teams.
Academic Supporters

IC2 Institute

McCombs School of Business

MSSTC Alumni Association

Office of Technology Commercialization

The University of Texas College of Engineering

The University of Texas Department of Computer Sciences

The University of Texas Library System

The University of Texas School of Law


GAIN echnology Entrepreneurship Society
CEO Texas 3 Day Startup



Selig Fund in Entrepreneurial Studies

Roden Center of Entrepreneurship

© 2013 I2P & Chair of Free Enterprise
Thanks to all our Donors and Supporters